The Ohio Foundation of Independent Colleges (OFIC) helps students in need by soliciting financial support from corporate donors that believe strongly in higher education. Our approach is personal and life changing— connecting students with donors and empowering donors to design scholarships that have a direct impact on students, their local community and their future employees. Because investments stay In Ohio, OFIC can efficiently and aggressively work to empower Ohio independent universities to have a local impact and increase the number of college-educated workers in Ohio.

Our Purpose

OFIC was founded in 1950 to conduct annual solicitations of companies and foundations to benefit private colleges in Ohio. OFIC today has 33 member institutions and 90,000+ students. Solicitation is conducted annually with the help of hundreds of corporate and collegiate volunteers calling on companies and foundations headquartered or doing business in Ohio. OFIC raises both unrestricted and restricted gifts including scholarships and endowments. Unrestricted gifts are largely used for student financial aid.

Our Staff

Office of the President

Bill Spiker
President
spiker@ofic.org

Joanne M. Moriarty
Assistant to the President
moriarty@ofic.org


Marketing, Technology & Communications

Karey K. West 
Senior Director of Marketing and Communications
west@ofic.org

Judy Moehl
Administration and Marketing Assistant
moehl@ofic.org


Development

Cindi Marshall
Regional Vice President for Development
marshall@ofic.org 

Liz Johnson
Regional Vice President for Development
johnson@ofic.org


Operations/
Administrative Services

Jayne E. Taylor
Vice President
Finance & Administration

taylor@ofic.org

Julie Mask
Administrative Assistant 
mask@ofic.org

 

Cathy L. McDonough
Administrative Assistant 
mcdonough@ofic.org


Scholarships, Student & Donor Program Administration

Brett S. Fields
Manager, Scholarship Services
fields@ofic.org

Wendy E. Thornton
Information Manager, CareerFest Coordinator 
thornton@ofic.org