Our Mission

The Ohio Foundation of Independent Colleges efficiently solicits financial support from corporations, foundations and other donors and distributes those funds to our member colleges and universities for educational programs, scholarships and collaborative efforts.

Our Purpose

The Ohio Foundation of Independent Colleges was founded in 1950 to conduct annual solicitations of companies and foundations to benefit private colleges in Ohio. OFIC today has 34 member institutions and 93,000 students. Solicitation is conducted annually with the help of hundreds of corporate and collegiate volunteers calling on companies and foundations headquartered or doing business in Ohio. OFIC raises both unrestricted and restricted gifts including scholarships and endowments. Unrestricted gifts are largely used for student financial aid.

Our Commitment

The Ohio Foundation of Independent Colleges is committed to being America's premier state foundation dedicated to supporting independent colleges and universities.

We carry out this commitment by:

  • enabling donors to directly help students achieve their educational goals
  • distributing funds efficiently to our member colleges and universities
  • recognizing our donors appropriately for their support of independent higher education
  • remembering that the ultimate value of our efforts and our donors' gifts is demonstrated through the successful, productive lives of our students and graduates

Our Staff

Office of the President

Bill Spiker
President
spiker@ofic.org

Joanne M. Moriarty
Assistant to the President
moriarty@ofic.org


Marketing, Technology & Communications

Karey K. West 
Senior Director of Marketing and Communications
west@ofic.org

Judy Moehl
Administration and Marketing Assistant
moehl@ofic.org


Development

Cindi Marshall
Regional Vice President for Development
marshall@ofic.org 

Liz Johnson
Regional Vice President for Development
johnson@ofic.org

Gordon R. Brollier 
President Emeritus
brollier@ofic.org


Operations & 
Administrative Services

Jayne E. Taylor
Vice President
Finance & Administration

taylor@ofic.org

Julie Mask
Administrative Assistant 
mask@ofic.org

Cathy L. McDonough
Administrative Assistant 
mcdonough@ofic.org


Scholarships, Student & Donor Program Administration

Brett S. Fields
Manager, Scholarship Services
fields@ofic.org

Wendy E. Thornton
Information Manager, CareerFest Coordinator 
thornton@ofic.org