Denison University

Being a Globally Oriented College

By Adam Weinberg
President, Denison University

What does it mean to be a globally oriented college? Are some international experiences better than others? Are colleges doing enough to integrate international students on their own campuses? And what steps can we take to improve global education for college students?

2015 OFIC Hall of Excellence Inductees Announced

The OFIC Selection Committee for the 2015 Hall of Excellence and Earl F. Morris Trustee Award has met and selected this year’s inductees. 

                                         The 2015 inductees to the OFIC Hall of Excellence will be:

Paul Lingle Photo.jpg

Paul W. Lingle (Wittenberg University)
Owner & President, Lingle Real Estate
President, Meadow Park Inc
President, Bayberry Development Group



Sidney Mishkin (Wilmington College)
Mishkin + Duvall (Retired Attorney)




Gregory L. Moore (Ohio Wesleyan University)
Editor-in-Chief, The Denver Post and Central Editor of Digital First Media



Lt. General Loren Reno (Cedarville University)
Dean, School of Business Administration at Cedarville University and 3-Star General (Retired) U.S. Air Force



The recipient of The Ohio Foundation of Independent Colleges’
Earl F. Morris Trustee Award is:

Dr. C. Richard Beckett
Board of Trustees, The University of Findlay (1985 to present)

An OFIC volunteer will also be recognized for exceptional and dedicated service to OFIC and its mission to provide access to private higher education for Ohio’s students.  To be honored as Volunteer of the Year is:

Jeffrey E. Hastings
Market President, Central Ohio, and Manager of Commercial Banking
U.S. Bank

Additionally, a student from an OFIC member institution will be recognized for initiative, achievement and excellence in service-learning. 

This year’s recipient of the 2015 OFIC Student Service-Learning Leadership Award is Rachel Auerbach from Denison University. Rachel is a double major in Environmental Studies and Women's Studies. 

For more information about the Evening of Excellence, read more here.